Fuel distribution excellence recognised at superb industry event

Having taken an enforced break, like so many valued activities, the leading industry event was back with a bang for 2022, with those involved regarding it as a resounding success. Bringing together the liquid fuel community in person for the first time in three years, the UKIFDA EXPO and Future Fuels Conference at Liverpool Exhibition Centre delivered a packed exhibition hall and over 1,200 attendees.

Barton Petroleum Leicester Depot receives the UKIFDA Depot of the Year award 2022

The success wasn’t limited to the daytime events either, with one of the real highlights being the Reunion Dinner and Awards Ceremony on the Wednesday evening. Guests were treated to a buzzing drinks reception, fantastic dinner and a very well-received guest speaker – Conor O’Shea, Director of Performance Rugby for the RFU.

An already celebratory atmosphere was further heightened as the winners of the 5 sought-after industry awards were unveiled and recognised for their innovation and talent.

The epitome of a driver

The UKIFDA Driver of the Year, sponsored by OAMPS, was awarded to David Willcox of the WP Group in recognition of his consistent demonstration of a willingness to go the extra mile to ensure that the business maintains high customer service standards.

The UKIFDA Driver of the Year, sponsored by OAMPS, was awarded to David Willcox of WP Group

WP Group was proud to highlight how David has supported a number of new drivers, helping them to settle in and continues to be there for them with advice and encouragement. He has been described as the epitome of a driver – someone any transport company would want in their business.

The runners-up in the Driver of the Year award are Chris Donaldson from Oilfast and Krzysztof Malik from Certas Energy with both drivers congratulated for their own outstanding contributions.

Committed to decarbonisation

The Oilshield-sponsored, Green Award was awarded to Oil 4 Wales

The Oilshield-sponsored, Green Award was won by Oil 4 Wales for their commitment to achieving a decarbonised future for the liquid fuel distribution sector.

The judges for the award were impressed by the way Oil 4 Wales has sought to expand its distribution business into other areas including looking at producing hydrogen through a network of community-based facilities in Wales with the possibility of also producing Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil (HVO).

Fuel Additive Science Technologies was also shortlisted for excellence in this important area.

Making a difference now

UKIFDA president, Janet Kettlewell, presents the Innovation Award, sponsored by Fuel Oil News, to Gwyn Lewis of Eliminox

The Innovation Award, sponsored by Fuel Oil News, was won by Eliminox whose innovative fuel conditioner was adjudged to deliver excellent results contributing towards an immediate reduction in the environmental impact of the sector.

The judges were impressed by the resultant reduction in greenhouse gases from polluting vehicles delivered by the conditioner with recent tests in combination with HVO delivering a 22% reduction in particulate matter.

With worthy appearances on the shortlist, MechTronic and FoxInsights were also highlighted for their own contributions to innovating the sector.

Setting the highest standard

There were huge congratulations for Barton Petroleum Leicester Depot as the winner of the UKIFDA Depot of the Year 2022, sponsored by Pen Underwriting, with the depot deemed to be ‘setting the highest standard’.

Decided by UKIFDA’s Tony Brown who audits the depots, this award drives forward the standard of safety for distributor depots and is always a hard-fought award with the level of excellence achieved in depots across the industry.

Describing the competition being even closer than normal, Tony said: “Barton Petroleum in Leicester is a testament to the culture and work ethic of an individual depot, being proactive with evidence throughout the audit process, setting the highest standard when it comes to Health and Safety, Operational Procedures, Environment and Transport along with continued improvements and action of any feedback given. Well done to all those involved at this depot.”

Runners-up NWF Fuels – Lincolnshire Fuel Depot and Certas Energy – Holton Heath Depot can also hold their heads high as they ran Barton’s depot very close this year.

Acknowledging a true professional

An award introduced only last year, the UKIFDA Young Person of the Year award, highlights the importance of the next generation of talent, hard work, commitment and fresh thinking coming into the industry. This year’s winner is Hannah Ward of Certas Energy who started as an apprentice and works in customer relations with her manager commenting: “Hannah has been dedicated in helping the most vulnerable and elderly customers.

UKIFDA Young Person of the Year award, Hannah Ward of Certas Energy, receives her award.

“Often working outside of her working hours to ensure these customers receive their fuel and that customers receive their fuel despite busy periods. She is someone who remains calm and handles pressure like a true professional.”

Warm congratulations were offered by those present to the runners up – Ben Ellins Watson Fuels and Flynn Abbot Allan Stobart Lubricants & Fuels.

UKIFDA Membership and Events Manager, Dawn Shakespeare, said: “Congratulations to all our 2022 Awards winners. Thank you also to Aon, for the dinner. We very much appreciate your support.”