The search is on for the driver of the year

Pictured with Certas Energy managing director, Steve Taylor, (l) is the 2017 winner Darren Gilham who spotted an unconscious lady in a car whilst he was out delivering. His quick thinking ensured the lady, who suffered from diabetes, made a full recovery.
The Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS) is seeking drivers who have gone the extra mile for their customers, or who have done something way beyond their normal duties.
Sponsored by OAMPS Hazardous Industries the prestigious FPS driver of the year award carries a £1000 winner’s prize and two runner-up prizes of £250 each.
“If the standard of last year’s entries was anything to go by, we’re going to have a hard task to decide on the winner for this year’s awards,” said Dawn Dawn Shakespeare, FPS marketing and events manager.
Last year’s winner was Darren Gilham from Certas Energy’s Ashford depot with Chris Brooks of NWF/Evesons Fuels, Kenilworth depot and Clifford Tappin of Lovell Fuels as runners up.
“These awards recognise the high standards being set by drivers in the UK and Ireland and we hope the awards will continue to encourage oil distributors to promote an ethos of safe driving, cleaner deliveries and outstanding customer care to create more drivers capable of winning this award.
FPS member companies are invited to submit nominations for drivers who have been employed by the company since the start of 2017. The competition is also limited to one entry per depot. In addition, the nominated driver must have had an incident free year (no accidents or spillages) in 2017.
The closing date for entries is 1st March 2018 and each shortlisted candidate will be interviewed in March 2018 with the winner being announced in April 2018.
Nomination forms for the driver of the year award 2018 and further information are available via by emailing