Seeking the best drivers in the UK & Ireland  

The 2019 OAMPS Hazardous Industries sponsored Driver of the Year and The QBE Insurance sponsored Depot of the Year competitions celebrate the best in the industry – last year’s driver of the year was Clifford Tappin of Lovell Fuels
As part of their annual awards celebrations, the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS) has started its search for the best tanker driver and fuel distribution depot.  
To enter for the Driver and Depot of the Year awards your company must be an FPS member.
For the Driver of the Year Award, judges are looking for that driver who not only has an outstanding safety record but has gone that ‘extra mile’ for customers.  Whilst, the winner of the coveted Depot of the Year prize will have to show that they are the leaders in their field, setting the highest of standards or making the biggest improvements in health and safety and other operating procedures.

Applications for the Driver of the Year Award should be sent before 11 March 2019. Contact Dawn Shakespeare, membership and events Manager – – for application details and more information.

All depots that have been audited and passed by FPS technical manager Tony Brown under the FPS Depot Certification Scheme in the past 12 months are automatically entered into the Depot of the Year competition.
“The audits cover 15 sections, including yard and tank storage, health and safety management, transport, and environmental management,” explained Tony.
“In addition, as part of an audit, we examine how the depot is performing compared to the expected standards in the industry; the proactivity and knowledge of the depot staff and how up-to-date site maintenance records are.”

For more information on the Depot of the Year competition contact Tony Brown at

These awards give recognition to both drivers of fuel tankers and staff at fuel distributors for their hard work and dedication to meeting the high standards set by the legislative authorities,” commented FPS CEO Guy Pulham.