A shining light in the fuel industry

Ciaran Quinn from County Westmeath distributor Flynn Fuels was presented with the 2015 FPS Driver of the Year Award at an evening event on the first day of last week’s FPS EXPO.

Ciaran, who fought off tough competition from a record number of entries to win this year’s competition, made it to the finals together with Raymond Geary of Barton Petroleum and Terry Chapman of Tincknell Fuels.

Samantha Keegan, fuel manager at Flynn Fuels who entered Ciaran for the award said: “He is one of the finest drivers that I have ever had the pleasure of working with.

“It’s the little things that Ciaran does, minding the stock at all times, not running out of product here at our depot, teaching new staff about computer systems within the fuel department, teaching himself all about the loading systems and computers to be an expert in all areas of fuel and never refusing to do a job whatever its extremity.”

Sponsors of the Driver of the Year award, OAMPS Petrochemical’s Andy Dix said “This award recognises the high standards being set by drivers in the UK and Republic of Ireland and we hope the awards will continue to encourage oil distributors to promote an ethos of safe driving, cleaner deliveries and outstanding customer care to create more drivers capable of winning this award.”

“This award recognises the extra efforts that our member drivers show, day in day out,” added Dawn Shakespeare, marketing & events manager. “Each year this award provides the FPS with an opportunity to recognise those that are continuing to drive quality in this exciting industry.”