FPS tanker driver of the year named

Ian Ross centre with Graham Smerdon (l), Pen Underwriting and FPS president Duncan Grant
Ian Ross centre with Graham Smerdon (l), Pen Underwriting and FPS president Duncan Grant
Chosen for his ‘truly extraordinary customer commitment’ Ian Ross from NWF Fuels Wardle depot in Cheshire has taken the title of 2016 FPS Driver of the Year

“Ian Ross was one of seven finalists shortlisted from one of the largest number of applicants we’ve ever received for this competition, which is sponsored by Pen Underwriting incorporating OAMPS,” said Dawn Shakespeare, FPS marketing and events manager.
“Ian Ross was crowned the winner because of the lengths he goes to for his customers. Respected and trusted by all he meets to get the job done, Ian has been known to even cut short a holiday to help out his colleagues at the depot when they needed urgent deliveries completed.”
“I am delighted for Ian who has displayed real commitment,” said NWF’s regional manager Rob Kennerley.
“We have an outstanding group of drivers throughout our depot network in the north west all going that extra mile to adhere to our company strap line – ‘where people make the difference’.   Many of our customers even ask for drivers by name because they trust them to deliver safely and on time.”
As a reward for winning, Ian receives £1,000 together with a trophy, certificate, and tanker stickers so all his customers can see he has won this prestigious award.
Certas Energy drivers Matthew Hillier from Swindon depot and Ian Coles from Bodmin depot took the two runners-up prizes with each receiving £250 and a certificate.
“All three individuals understand the needs of the business as well as the importance of their deliveries to vulnerable customers, and take a proactive approach to work and to helping others, fellow drivers and customers alike,” added Dawn.